About the Conference

This graduate student research conference aims to facilitate and foster an interdisciplinary, trans-institutional cohort of scholars interested in issues of migration and mobility. It is organized by a group of graduate students and faculty from various departments at Michigan State University. Migration Studies is a burgeoning and all-too-relevant area of academic attention, and the conference seeks to foster a cohort of scholars working on any thematic, conceptual, spatial, or temporal aspect of human migration from any disciplinary perspective.

The first conference took place in 2012 and featured papers on the intersection of migration with health, youth, the state, gender, and development. Rhacel Parreñas of the University of Southern California delivered the keynote address.  The second conference, in 2013, was larger than the previous and featured keynote speaker Donna Gabaccia. The 2014 conference, with a keynote address by José Moya of Barnard College, brought together the largest cohort yet. The 2015 conference opened on Friday, October 9th with a keynote address by Dawn Chatty, a social anthropologist at the University of Oxford and former director of the Refugee Studies Centre. In 2016, over 50 panelists coming from 6 continents attended the conference, making it our biggest and most international event in scope. Nancy Foner of the CUNY Graduate Center delivered the keynote address.

Attendance at the conference is free and open to the public.

The 2017 event will be held October 6th and 7th in the MSU International Center. The PDF Call for Papers can be found HERE

publicity poster_v4.jpg